Wednesday, June 29, 2022 - 05:30

NEW DATE - JUNE 29th!

Circles on Indigenous Worldviews - The Changing of the Earth: Climate Change Initiatives led by First Peoples

 

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

7:30pm ET, 5:30pm MT and 4:30pm PT

As a contribution to the learnings and understandings between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples, Initiatives of Change Canada is hosting a series of virtual events entitled Circles on Indigenous Worldviews.

Elder Alvin Manitopyes, is our presenter for this session.  Elder Alvin is First Nations of Plains Cree/Saulteaux and is an enrolled member of the Muskowekwan First Nations, Saskatchewan, Canada. He now lives in Calgary, Alberta.

Alvin was raised in a traditional manner and was taught the importance of preserving ancient Indigenous knowledge and interpretation of natural laws according to the teachings of his Elders. Alvin is recognized as an accomplished traditional dancer on the North America pow-wow circuit and has travelled extensively throughout Europe and South America sharing his culture and traditional knowledge. Alvin’s experience and knowledge in traditional healing practices has been utilized by many organizations in particular for staff, who want to understand Indigenous cultures.

Alvin has been involved in environmental issues for many years and attended the United Nations Conference on the Human Environment (UNCHE), held in Stockholm, Sweden, in 1972. It was the first major international conference on the environment. As part of an online event marking 50 years since that first conference, Alvin was asked to present the Indigenous recognition message.

Please join us virtually on Wednesday, June 29th

at 7:30pm ET, 5:30pm MT and 4:30pm PT.  

·       The event will be around 90 minutes with a chance to join the conversation.

·       Please register in advance for this event HERE. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the Zoom meeting.