Sunday, September 25, 2022 - 12:00

Circles of Indigenous Worldviews – Why do we believe, what we believe?

Guest Speaker: Chief Lee Crowchild, Facilitator: Qhase Lokhandwala, Co Facilitator: Joy Newman

Sunday September 25 ~ 12 noon ET, 10am MT, 9am PT

This will be a conversation based on the indigenous perspective “the OTHER side” of the Pope’s historic apology in Canada for the pain of residential schools and unmarked graves of indigenous children and potential impact of decisions around this event on all future generations.

Understanding these issues helps us to be objective about history, which favours “victors”. A proverb says, “Until the lions learn to write, every story will glorify the hunter”. It will help us become better humans and empower us to remedy the historical wrongs, partially if not fully, making for better, inclusive communities and to train future generations, based on the highest respect for each other.

Chief Lee Crowchild is a Traditional Knowledge Keeper of Tsuut’ina Nation. He is an experienced consultant with expertise on government and corporate indigenous relations. A visionary advisor, he brings direction and understanding from a First Nations’ perspective.

Passionate about Transparency and Re-strengthening the Native Conscious, he spoke at notable events hosted by organizations including Environment Canada, Alberta Environment, Bow River Watershed Conservancy, Assembly of First Nations (AFN). Chief Crowchild has expertise ranging from environmental, technical infrastructure to arts and culture, and social issues.

Please email admin.ca@iofc.org to register for the Zoom link.

This event will be in English with simultaneous translation into French. 

 

This event is part of a seven-day international gathering of those committed to Initiatives of Change. It is important to know this if you join. Because of scheduling of other meetings, the event will end sharply after 90 minutes.