Saturday, August 1, 2020 - 14:00

Led by Cecilia Silundika, Ottawa Chair of the Women's Economic Forum, and the recipient of awards for her work in women's empowerment.

WOMEN EMPOWERMENT - BALANCING BUSINESS, FAMILY RESPONSIBILITIES AND CHARITY WORK

SATURDAY, AUGUST 1st 14:00 GMT  (08:00 MST/10:00 EST)
​​​​​​​
The International Council of Initiatives of Change has included Women Empowerment as part of its strategic priorities. The past year focussed on the identification of needs through consultations so that a support network can be developed to engage, support and inspire women. It is hoped that the conversations happening during the HUB and other venues will also contribute towards this cause. 

The main objective for this session is to hear from women from our Network representing different continents,  as they share insights on what it means to run a business, lead a family and deal with related challenges while balancing with charitable work.

Program

  1. HUB Technical Support update
  2. Introductory Remarks – Thembi Cecilia Silundika, International Council
  3. Overview - What is entrepreneurship, Issues, Challenges and Opportunities, Firyal Mohammed, Canada  
  4. Co-managing a Farming Business, Family and supporting IofC – Jenny Bocock, a presentation by Rosalind Weeks, Canada.
  5. Nenden Prawira, Indonesia 
  6. Ann Njeri, Kenya 
  7. Marienne Makoudem Tene, Cameroon 
  8. Q&A Session
  9. Concluding Remarks 

Follow this link to Join!